11-party SLPP dissident group split by APC – Island

SJB, UNP have not been decided yet, JVP will not go

By Shamindra Ferdinando

The opposition SLPP group is represented by Ven. At the All-Party Conference (APC) on March 23, Athureliye Rathana (MP) and Professor Tissa Vitharana (MP) will be held to discuss ways and means of overcoming the current crisis.

A senior dissident spokesman said island Following discussions between the groups, it was decided to send Ape Jana Bala Pakshaya MPVen. On behalf of the group, Professor Ratana and Vitalana of the Sri Lankan Socialist Party (LSSP).

Rebel groups include the Democratic Left Front, LSSP, Communist Party of Sri Lanka, National Freedom Front, National Assembly, Pibitul Hera Urmaya, Sri Lanka Mahajana Pakshaya, Vijaya Darani Jatika Subhawa, Exus Mahajana Pakshaya, Yutsukama. Civil society organization.

SLFP, a member of the opposition group, is represented by a delegation led by its leader, Maithripla Sirisena himself.

According to political sources, when SLPP and SLFP delegations met at the Presidential Secretariat on March 8 to discuss the current situation, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa was asked by SLFP leader Mitry Parla Sirisena to APC. I called. Sources explained that the opposition group was forced to attend the APC because it was proposed by SLFP, a member of the alternative group.

The opposition group consists of nearly 30 members of parliament.

NFF leader Wimal Weerawansa, PHU leader Gammanpila, and DLF leader Vasudeva Nanayakkara have decided to oppose participation in the APC. Weerawansa and Ganmanpira were recently dismissed from the Cabinet. Nanayakkala remains a minister, but has not fulfilled the minister’s duties and responsibilities in protest of the dismissal of his colleague. Opponents would have boycotted the event yesterday (20) without Sajith Premadasa, the leader of the Samagi Jana Balaw (SJB), his party has not yet decided to join, sources said. I told the island.

SJB will announce the decision today (21).

JVP Gampaha district councilor Vijitha Herath told the island yesterday (20) that there was no point in attending the APC. The government claimed to have been doing useless exercises to resolve the crisis within SLPP, saying the issue should have been addressed more than a year ago.

MP Herath confirmed that President Rajapaksa has entered into negotiations with the International Monetary Fund (IMF), but the government has so far explained the state of the economy to other parties represented by Parliament. Emphasized that there is no.

JVP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake said it was ridiculous to talk to the people who caused the crisis. He said when the media sought his response to a proposal to establish a leadership council.

Dr. Harsha de Silva (MP) of SJB repeatedly points out that one of the major problems the current administration is experiencing is the inability of leaders to speak in one word about the state of the national economy. There is. Dr. De Silva blamed the crisis for pulling in various directions by central bank governor Aziz Nivaldo Cabral and finance minister Basil Rajapaxa.

The current parliament is represented by 15 political parties. SLPP (145 members), SJB (54), ITAK (10), JJB (03), AITC (02), EPDP (02), UNP, SLFP, OPPP (Our Power of People Party), TMVP (Tamil Makkal) Viduthalai Pulikal), MNA (National Unity Alliance), TMTK (Tamil Makkal Theshiya Kutani), ACMC (All Ceylon Makkal Congress), NC (National Congress and SLMC (Sri Lanka Muslim Congress)) are represented by one MP each. Will be.

The UNP said it had not yet been decided, a party spokesman said.

ITAK MPMA Sumanthiran could not comment immediately.

SLPP members, MEP, EPDP and CWC will participate in APC. 11-party SLPP dissident group split by APC – Island

Show More
Back to top button