Middle East

ACC Under 19 Cups-Times Kuwait

By KR Yar

Hosted by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) from December 23rd to December 31st in Dubai and Sharjah, the 9th edition of the ACC Under 19 Cup will create a reverberant performance from the world’s cricket rising stars. Is expected. .. It was through this tournament that some of today’s top cricketers announced their arrival. Since the first edition, 42 years ago in Bangladesh in 1989, it has always been a fierce battle for the title.

India dominated the tournament, hosting seven ACC Under-19 cups and sharing the title with Pakistan in Malaysia in 2012 after a tie match. The only other country to lift this cup is Afghanistan in 2017 after defeating Pakistan with 185 runs in Malaysia.

This is the second time the United Arab Emirates has hosted this over 50 tournament, following the 2013-14 edition. ICC Cricket Academy Oval Grounds 1 and 2 and Sharjah Cricket Stadium will host the group match, and the final on December 31st will be held at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

The final version of this tournament, held at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on September 14, 2019, was a thriller. India was shot down at 106 with 32.4 overs, but counterattacked to limit Bangladesh to 101 with 33 overs. The protagonist of the match was Indian left-handed spinner Atharva Vinod Ankolekar, who won 5 wickets from 8 overs to 28 runs. The 2018 edition was held in Bangladesh, where India defeated Sri Lanka with 144 runs in the final to win its sixth championship.

When India defeated Sri Lanka in the final in 1989 to win the first edition, the Indian team had future stars such as former Indian captains Sourav Ganguly, Ajay Jadeja and Vinod Kambli, and Sri Lanka was led by Marvan Atapattu. ..

The second edition, held after a 14-year gap, once again defended the title against defeating Sri Lanka in the final in Pakistan in 2003. In this edition, Irfan Patan, one of India’s best all-rounders, has appeared as a player in the series. Pakistani skipper Bavar Azam was the captain of the 2012 team in Kuala Lumpur. When Afghanistan won the 2017 edition, they had one of the best hard hitters in the game today, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, and Pakistan had a left-handed pacemaker Shaheen Afridi on the team.

The five ICC regular members in Asia are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India. Qualifying for the event will be hosted by the UAE in Kuwait, Nepal. Group A consists of Afghanistan, India, Pakistan and the United Arab Emirates. Group B consists of Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Kuwait.

India defends the title through a strong team led by Yash Dhull. YashDhull has accumulated 302 runs on average at 75.50, making him the top run getter in this year’s Vinoo Mankad Trophy in Delhi. SK Rasheed, who also produced an impressive show at Vinoo Mankad Trophy, is the deputy captain. The Indian team under the age of 19 arrived here after receiving a pep talk from Indian Limited Over Cricket Captain Rohit Sharma at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore. The team was in a preparatory camp for this event.

Indians will launch a campaign to undertake the UAE in the opening match at ICC Academy Oval 1 at 9:30 am on December 23rd.

The Pakistani team is headed by Kasim Akram, who plays for the second time in the World Cup under the age of 19. His team openers Abdul Wahid Bangalzai and Mohammad Shezad, as well as intermediate batter Irrfan Khan Niaji, also participated in the last World Cup. Pakistan will face Afghanistan on the first day of ICC Academy Oval 2.

The clash between traditional rivals India and Pakistan will take place on December 25th at ICC Ground 2 (9:30 am local time).

Sri Lanka has an impressive team that has defeated World Cup champions Bangladesh and England under the age of 19 at home in the past few months. The team is headed by all-rounder Dunith Wellarage, with Chamindu Wickramasinghe, Matheesha Pathirana, Raveen de Silva and Yasiru Rodigo. All of these have played in the World Cup under the age of 19. Sri Lanka begins on the second day (December 24th) by going to Kuwait at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh, the defending champion of the Under 19 World Cup, is headed by left-handed spinner Rakiburu Hasan. He led Bangladesh to victory in the World Cup under the age of 19 in the 2020 edition. Bangladesh will face qualifying Nepal at Sharjah Cricket Stadium from 9:30 am on the first day.

Afghanistan is headed by top left-handed batter Suliman Safi and lieutenant by Iyaz Ahmazai. The team was selected after 45 athletes were invited to a one-month training camp. The two players who participated in the 2020 ICC Under-19 World Cup are Noor Ahmad, a left-handed spinner, and Mohammad Ishak, a wicket-keeper batter.

Read today’s news today …to us Telegram channelClick here to join and receive all the latest updates

https://www.timeskuwait.com/news/acc-under-19-cup/ ACC Under 19 Cups-Times Kuwait

Show More
Back to top button