Middle East

Al Atya wins the Dakar Rally for the fourth time

Qatar’s Nacelle Al Atiya won the Dakar Rally for the fourth time yesterday, and British motorcycle rider Sam Sunderland won the title for the second time. Toyota factory driver Al Atiya led from the start in Saudi Arabia on January 1st and finished in Jeddah 27 minutes and 46 seconds ahead of France’s nine-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb. Saudi Arabian driver Yazedo Al-Radi took third place on the Overdrive Toyota team and took his first podium at the event.
Al-Attiyah was held in South America in 2011, 2015 and 2019 and won the Dakar Rally at Volkswagen, Mini and Toyota respectively. He is now the second most successful car driver in the history of the event, Finland’s four-time winner Ari Vatanen and France’s eight-time winner Stephane, who also won six motorcycles. Next to Peterhansel.
“I’ve been finishing second every time since I came to Saudi Arabia two years ago, but now I’m really happy to reach my goal,” Qatar said. “I’ve managed the leads since I widened the gap on the first day. We’re really happy. I think we’ll start thinking about the next Dakar in a week or 10 days.”
Gas Gas Rider Sunderland, who won his first title in South America in 2017, finished 3 minutes and 27 seconds earlier than Chilean rider Pablo Quintanilla at Honda. Austria’s Matthias Walker was third in KTM.
The Dakar Rally began in 1978 as a race from Paris across Sahara to the capital of Senegal, but for safety reasons it switched to South America in 2009. One of the most dangerous and toughest events in motorsport, the rally moved to Saudi Arabia in 2020 and is now the 44th. Sunderland is the only Englishman to win this event in any category. Alexandre Giroud became the first Frenchman to win the quad bike category.

http://www.gulf-times.com/story/707977/Al-Attiyah-wins-Dakar-Rally-for-fourth-time Al Atya wins the Dakar Rally for the fourth time

Back to top button