Middle East

Australia announces 2022 World Cup Qatar squad – Doha News

Goalkeeper Matthew Ryan will captain Qatar for its third World Cup, coach Graham Arnold confirmed on Tuesday when he announced the 26-man squad for the 2022 tournament.

Defenders Aziz Behic, Milos Degenek, Jackson Irvine, Jamie McLaren, Aaron Mooy and Bailey Wright will return to the international stage for their second World Cup appearance.

Nine members of the Tokyo 2020 team, including Nathaniel Atkinson, Keanu Backus, Thomas Deng, Cameron Devlin and Joel King, will take part in the upcoming football tournament.

17 players travel to Qatar to make their debut in the first World Cup, covering soccer as a young side.

Danny Bukovich is a surprising addition to the roster as the goalkeeper is 37 years old.

Vukovic has only played four games for his club, the Central Coast Mariners, and currently has the lowest save percentage in the league, keeping a clean sheet 5-of-11 off target.

“We have worked hard to give our young players the opportunity during the campaign to expose them to international football and to test them against the best players on the stage,” said Arnold. I was.

Australia has played in six FIFA World Cup finals in 1974, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018 and 2022. She also made 15 attempts to qualify for the FIFA World Cup, the first of which she lost in 1966. to North Korea.

world cup team

Goalkeeper: Matthew Ryan (FC Copenhagen), Andrew Redmayne (Sydney FC), Danny Vukovich (Central Coast Mariners)

Defender: Aziz Behic (Dundee United), Milos Degenek (Columbus Crew), Thomas Deng (Ibirex Niigata), Joel King (Odense Bordo Club), Nathaniel Atkinson (Hearts), Fran Karacic (Brescia) , Harry Suter (Stoke City), Kai Rawls (Hearts), Craig Goodwin (Adelaide United)

Midfielder: Aaron Mooy (Celtic), Jackson Irvine (St. Pauli), Azidine Furustic (Hellas Verona), Baillie Wright (Sunderland), Cameron Devlin (Hearts), Riley McGree (Middlesbrough), Keanu Backus (St Mirren)

forward: Awer Mabil (Cadiz), Mathew Leckie (Melbourne City), Martin Boyle (Hibernian), James Maclaren (Melbourne City), Jason Cummings (Central Coast Mariners), Mitchell Duke (Fagiano Okayama), Garang Kuol (Central Coast Mariners)

https://dohanews.co/australia-unveils-squad-list-for-world-cup-qatar-2022/ Australia announces 2022 World Cup Qatar squad – Doha News

Back to top button