First member ratifies new NATO expansion

Canada is the first of 30 members of the block to officially approve membership in Sweden and Finland.

Canadian lawmakers resolved to ratify Sweden and Finland’s accession to NATO after a U.S.-led military block met in Brussels and signed a two-country Nordic accession protocol.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau publication The move on Tuesday said the House of Commons in Canada took up the issue “as soon as possible” and unanimously voted for the two to join the alliance.

“Today, Canada became the first country to ratify Finland and Sweden’s accession protocol and joined NATO, which brings them one step closer to full accession,” Ottawa said. He added that he had “confidence.” Quickly and effectively integrate into NATO and contribute to the collective defense of the alliance. “

Trudeau’s comments came after NATO leaders met earlier that day in Belgium and signed a protocol that must be ratified by the parliaments of each member state. Canada has ratified within a few hours, but it can take months to complete, as lawmakers from dozens of countries need to reach an agreement on this issue.

Finland and Sweden broke a long-standing tradition of neutrality when applying for NATO earlier this year because of security concerns after Russia sent troops to Ukraine in February. Most members immediately welcomed them to the alliance, but their bid was put on hold by Turkey. Turkey has accused it of containing Kurdish militants and promoting “terrorism.”

However, despite some warnings from Ankara, Turkey signed a 10-point agreement last week promising two Scandinavian countries to deal with allegations of terrorism and, in particular, lift export restrictions on Turkish goods. After that, I argued. Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan warned that if his country’s demands were not met, it could thwart the process again, but the deal seems to have cleared the deadlock.

(((( First member ratifies new NATO expansion

Back to top button