Four new members appointed to the Board of Directors of the University of the Bahamas – Eye Witness News

Nassau, Bahamas-The University of The Bahamas (UB) Board of Trustees (BOT) has appointed four new councilors representing a wide range of experience and expertise in the fields of higher education, business, healthcare and legal.

The new trustee is Janine Hodder, an independent consultant. Dr. Indira Martin, Director of the National Reference Institute of the Ministry of Health. Barrister Devi Williams; and the appointment of Sonless Martin Jr., a global trade and business development expert, came into effect on June 17, 2022.

Hodder was President of the University of the Bahamas from 2006 to 2010 and was responsible for key milestones such as developing strategic plans to grant university status and developing the foundation for the university’s internationalization.

He is Vice President of the Canadian Friends Foundation at Bahama University, Vice President of International Relations at McGill University, and Principal and Vice President of Bishop’s University.

Dr. Martin led the expansion of the Bahamas’ National Reference Institute and led the process of making the Bahamas the first internationally accredited clinical laboratory in the country and the second in the region. She is also a published researcher and a member of several national, regional, and international associations for the promotion and advancement of healthcare.

Williams, Honorary Advisor to Monaco in Bahama, is a barrister, trust and real estate practitioner, and a certified civil and commercial mediator. She has established and is currently chairing the Opportunity Foundation to secure higher education opportunities for endangered youth.

Martin Jr is a co-founder and former development advisor of the Collaborative Consulting Group with over 10 years of experience. Originally from Miami, Florida and originating in Haiti and the Bahamas, he has extensive knowledge of government, campaigns and policy at all stages. He has also played a variety of roles in US municipalities, from committee aides to senior advisors and policy and legislative officers.

Allison Maynerd Gibson.

Allison Maynard Gibson, QC, Chairman of the Board, said:

“Each has their own knowledge, skills and experience, which helps them to influence and advance the mission and strategic priorities of the institution. We look forward to their active participation and insights. increase.”

The collective scope and depth of the new appointee’s expertise will be leveraged to further advance UB’s mission, its strategic obligations, including the path to accreditation, and the overall governance of the institution.

Peter Whitehead is Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors. The other members are: Ex-officio President, Dr. Rodney D. Smith. Alexandra T. Hall, Trustee; Gadoville McDonald, Trustee, Professor Bridget Hogg, Teacher Trustee. Jazmine Romer-Rolle, graduate councilor. Melvert Clarke, the trustee of the staff. McKenson Charles, Student Councilor. Brian Jones, Trustee; D’arcy Rahming, Trustee; Barry Rasin, Trustee. Henry St. George, Trustee; Philip Stubbs, Trustee. Keith Russell, trustee. Christie Powell, trustee. And Marcus Rain, the trustee.

The Board of Governors, the governing body of the UB, was enacted under the University of the Bahamas Act 2016 and is responsible for the overall direction and management of the university’s operations, including the development of policies and regulations to promote the university’s mission. I owe it. Four new members appointed to the Board of Directors of the University of the Bahamas – Eye Witness News

Show More
Back to top button