Jagdeep Dhankhar sworn in as India’s 14th Vice President


MIA “Russia Segodnya”


Rahul Trivedi

Rahul Trivedi



sputnik international


MIA “Russia Segodnya”

sputnik international


MIA “Russia Segodnya”

bharatiya janata party (bjp) politics politics vice president



The Electoral College of 233 elected and 12 nominated members of the Rajya Sabha (upper house of parliament) and the 543 elected members of the Lok Sabha (lower house of parliament) voted to elect the 14th Vice President of India. Voting began at 10:00 a.m. and ended at 5:00 p.m. at the Capitol.

West Bengal governor Jagdeep Dunkar was elected on Saturday 14th Vice President of India.

Dhankar was nominated by the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), a coalition led by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), to defeat opposition nominee Margaret Alba.

A total of 725 members of parliament voted in the election, out of a possible 788. Dhankhar got his 528 votes, Alva got his 182 votes and 15 votes spoiled.

He will become the second politician from Rajasthan to be elected Vice President, after Byron Singh Shekhawat.

Dhankhar victory is all but certain as regional parties such as Janata Dal (United), Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazagam (AIADMK) and Shiv Sena have expressed their support was. he.

Alva was backed by the country’s main opposition parliaments, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

The Trinamool Congress (TMC), the second largest opposition party in parliament after Congress, with 36 MPs in both houses, decided to abstain from voting. However, two of his members of parliament defied the party’s position and voted in the election.

Elections for the position of Vice President Muppavarapu Venkaia NaiduHis term ends on August 10th.

What is Jagdeep Dhankar?

Dhankhar, 71, hails from Rajasthan and belongs to the Jat community. He is a renowned lawyer and a member of the High Court of Rajasthan and the Supreme Court of India.

In 1989, he won the Janata Dal party’s candidacy election and was elected as a Member of Parliament for the first time representing the Junjunu constituency of Rajasthan.

In 1990, he served as Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs in the government led by then-Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar.

After the minority government failed in 1991, Dhankhar joined the parliament and was elected MP from Kishangarh, Rajasthan in 1993.

After that he Joined BJP in 2003 In 2019, he was appointed Governor of West Bengal. Jagdeep Dhankhar sworn in as India’s 14th Vice President

Back to top button