Middle East

Japan and Australia impose sanctions on Russia

Japan and Australia have announced that they will impose a series of sanctions on Russia after admitting that Donetsk and Lugansk have become independent of Ukraine.

Japan’s Prime Minister Fumio Kishida said in a statement that Japan would stop issuing visas to officials in both regions and freeze their assets. According to Fumio Kishida, imports and exports to and from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk republics, as well as the issuance and trading of Russian government bonds in Japan, are also banned.

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison has also announced sanctions on some Russians, as well as travel bans and targeted economic sanctions on Moscow’s move in eastern Ukraine.

Morrison said the “Russian invasion” was unjustified and unacceptable. “Russia is now ready to complete a full-scale invasion of Ukraine, which is likely to occur within the next 24 hours,” Morrison said.

He noted that the Australian government would immediately begin imposing sanctions on some individuals in Russia, explaining that his government would impose travel bans and certain economic sanctions on eight members of the Security Council of Russia. ..

The United Kingdom, the European Union and Canada have announced similar sanctions, including Russian banks and Russian legislators who upheld the approval of Donets’k and Luhansk independence from Ukraine.

Last updated: February 23, 2022 12:13 PM

http://www.gulf-times.com/story/710456/Japan-Australia-impose-sanctions-on-Russia Japan and Australia impose sanctions on Russia

Show More
Back to top button