Middle East

Lewandowski wins FIFA’s “Best” Award

Barcelona midfielder Alexia Pteras won the 2021 Player of the Year award, and Bayern Munich Polish striker Robert Lewandowski won the same award in the men’s category.

Lewandowski outperformed Lionel Messi in Argentina and Mohamed Salah in Egypt, and Putellas outperformed teammates Jennifer Hermoso and Sam Kerr in Australia. (AP archive)

Bayern Munich record striker Robert Lewandowski holds the title of FIFA’s top male player at the 2021 “Best” ceremony, while Barcelona captain Alexia Putellas wins the Best Female Player Award. I got it.

The 33-year-old Lewandowski, who set the Bundesliga goal record last season, won his second trophy, beating Paris Saint-Germain’s Argentine Lionel Messi and Liverpool’s Egyptian Mohamed Salah.

“I am honored to receive this award and I am very proud of it,” Lewandowski said.

It was comforting for the Polish striker who lost to Messi at Ballon d’Or in November.

Putera’s prize is doubled

For Putellas, like Ballon d’Or, the Spaniards doubled the award for defeating Barcelona teammate Jennifer Hermoso and Chelsea Australian striker Samantha Kerr.

The 27-year-old midfielder enjoyed an exceptional season from 2020 to 2021 in Barcelona when he led the Catalan to the Spanish League, Cup Double and Champions League.

“This trophy is for everyone on the team,” said Putellas.

“The trophy will be an inspiration for all of us.”

Other awards

Cristiano Ronaldo won a special award for defeating Ali Daei’s 109 points in Iran and setting a record for most international goals scored in his country.

36-year-old Ronaldo is currently scoring 115 goals in 184 games against Portugal.

“I didn’t expect to break this record. I’m grateful to my teammates for the last 20 years,” said Ronaldo, who holds the Champions League’s 140-goal record.

Edouard Mendy of Chelsea and Christiane Endler of Lyon won the Goalkeeper Award.

Chelsea have won both coach awards through Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes.

Eric Lamela, now a member of Sevilla, won the Best Goal Award for the Spurs Trick Rabona Shot in the North London Derby.

Danish medical staff and athletes who had to deal with the collapse of Christian Eriksen in the field in the euro won the “Fair Play” award.

Source: AFP

https://www.trtworld.com/sport/putellas-lewandowski-win-top-fifa-best-awards-53759?utm_source=other&utm_medium=rss Lewandowski wins FIFA’s “Best” Award

Back to top button