Europe

Liz Truss opposes US pressure not to review the Northern Ireland Protocol, the report said.

https://sputniknews.com/20220522/liz-truss-defies-us-pressure-not-to-review-northern-ireland-protocol-report-says-1095697524.html

Liz Truss opposes US pressure not to review the Northern Ireland Protocol, the report said.

Liz Truss opposes US pressure not to review the Northern Ireland Protocol, the report said.

Earlier this week, Congressman Nancy Pelosi warned that Britain would not support a free trade agreement with Britain … 22.05.2022, Sputnik International.

2022-05-22T07: 47 + 0000

2022-05-22T07: 47 + 0000

2022-05-22T07: 47 + 0000

UK

We

Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland Protocol

Liz Truss

meeting

EU

Deadlock

/ html / head / meta[@name=”og:title”]/@content

/ html / head / meta[@name=”og:description”]/@content

https://cdnn1.img.sputniknews.com/img/07e6/05/16/1095697775_0:123:3205:1925_1920x0_80_0_0_fcd64e9733704b00665bcd8b96215417.jpg

According to the Guardian, British Foreign Minister Liz Truss has rejected a petition to refrain from rewriting the Northern Ireland (NI) Protocol by Richard Neil, a close ally of US President Joe Biden. At a meeting on Saturday, she and Neil specifically discussed “cast iron commitment to the Good Friday Agreement” and “the importance of free trade.” The 1998 Good Friday Agreement is also known as the Good Friday Agreement. 30 years of violence in conflict-torn Northern Ireland, the division of power in the region and the establishment of a demilitarized Irish border The NI Protocol when a negotiated solution with the EU cannot be seen. She told the Commons that this move was needed to reduce “unnecessary bureaucracy” and protect the Good Friday Agreement, arguing that the EU’s proposal would “return.” The deadlock was exacerbated after the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) of Northern Ireland blocked the elections in the “Stormont” of the Northern Ireland Assembly. Ireland’s National Party Shin Fine urges union members to surpass the DUP for the first time in the Northern Ireland Assembly elections on May 5 and warn members to boycott the new government unless it addresses post-Brexit trade rules with the EU. I did. A harsh rhetoric by US House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, who warned the British government of plans to unilaterally abolish the NI Protocol. “We are deeply concerned that the UK is now unilaterally abolishing the Northern Ireland Protocol, which maintains significant progress and stability,” Pelosi emphasized, which is between the UK and the EU. Following Derek Colette, senior adviser to Britain’s Secretary of State for Ireland, revealed that the “major battle” was the “last thing” Washington wanted. Meanwhile, Neil told the Guardian that part of his job was to persuade Britain not to violate the Brexit treaty. There is no substitute for substantive negotiations between the UK Government and the EU to resolve issues related to the NI protocol. Martin also called for a parliamentary and executive branch in Staumont during talks between Britain and the EU, accusing Britain of “moving the goal post” on its approach to the Protocol. This document is part of the Brexit Agreement that came into force. In January 2021, we assume that there are no strict borders between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. However, under the NI protocol, all goods and animal-based products from other parts of the UK must be checked on arrival to ensure compatibility with EU hygiene regulations. The UK government has repeatedly claimed that the protocol is not working. This causes delays and interruptions in goods moving between the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland. The document also offends union members who believe their position in the UK could be affected, thereby threatening the Good Friday Agreement.

https://sputniknews.com/20220518/eu-invokes-threat-of-trade-war-will-use-all-measures-at-its-disposal-if-uk-tears-up-ni-protocol-1095594537. html

https://sputniknews.com/20220203/eu-parliament-slams-uk-over-northern-irelands-order-to-halt-post-brexit-agri-food-checks-1092728461.html

Northern Ireland

Sputnik International

Feedback@sputniknews.com

+74956456601

MIA “Rosiya Segodnya”

2022

Oleg Brunov

https://cdnn1.img.sputniknews.com/img/07e4/09/0b/1080424846_0: 0:2048:2048_100x100_80_0_0_3d7b461f8a98586fa3fe739930816aea.jpg

Oleg Brunov

https://cdnn1.img.sputniknews.com/img/07e4/09/0b/1080424846_0: 0:2048:2048_100x100_80_0_0_3d7b461f8a98586fa3fe739930816aea.jpg

news

en_EN

Sputnik International

Feedback@sputniknews.com

+74956456601

MIA “Rosiya Segodnya”

https://cdnn1.img.sputniknews.com/img/07e6/05/16/1095697775_236:0:2967:2048_1920x0_80_0_0_2d9e8d09c0fe030d6049a6376f6a6e84.jpg

Sputnik International

Feedback@sputniknews.com

+74956456601

MIA “Rosiya Segodnya”

Oleg Brunov

https://cdnn1.img.sputniknews.com/img/07e4/09/0b/1080424846_0: 0:2048:2048_100x100_80_0_0_3d7b461f8a98586fa3fe739930816aea.jpg

UK, US, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland Protocol, Liz Truss, Conference, eu, Deadlock

Earlier this week, Congress said it was “deeply concerned” if the U.S. House of Representatives, Nancy Pelosi, said he was “deeply concerned” about plans to “unilaterally abandon” the North Irish Protocol. He warned that he would not support his country’s free trade agreement.

British Foreign Minister Liz Truss According to the Guardian, he refused to plea the Northern Ireland (NI) Protocol by Richard Neal, a close ally of US President Joe Biden.

Truss meets with Neil, chairman of the Houseways and Means Commission in London on Saturday, arguing that the Protocol is having a serious impact, and the EU is at stake.

In a Twitter post, the Foreign Minister wrote at a Saturday meeting that he specifically discussed “cast iron commitment to the Good Friday Agreement” and “the importance of free trade.”

The Good Friday Agreement of 1998, also known as the Good Friday Agreement, ended 30 years of violence in conflict-torn Northern Ireland and established a delegated power sharing between the region and the demilitarized Irish border. Did.

The Trusnir rally took place a few days after top British diplomats declared plans to recreate part of the NI Protocol if a negotiated solution with the EU failed to see the light of day. rice field.

She told Commons that this move was needed to reduce and protect “unnecessary bureaucracy.” Good Friday AgreementThe EU’s proposal claims that it “will retreat from today’s situation.”

EU threatens trade war and uses “all measures at disposal” if Britain breaks NI Protocol

The impasse worsened after the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) of Northern Ireland blocked the elections in the “Stormont” of the Northern Ireland Assembly. Ireland’s National Party, Sinn Féin, has surpassed the Democratic Unionist Party for the first time in the Northern Ireland Assembly elections on May 5, and will boycott the new government unless it addresses trade rules with the EU after leaving the EU. I warned.

Adding fuel to the fire is a tough rhetoric by US House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, who warned the British government about plans to unilaterally abandon the NI Protocol.

In a statement earlier this week, Pelosi described the Good Friday Agreement as “the foundation of peace in Northern Ireland and the beacon of hope to the whole world.” “To maintain this groundbreaking agreement that transformed Northern Ireland, it is imperative to make sure that there is no physical border between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland,” said the Speaker of the House.

“We are deeply concerned that Britain is now unilaterally abolishing the Northern Ireland Protocol, which maintains the significant progress and stability built by the Accord,” Pelosi emphasized.

Following Derek Collet, senior adviser to US Secretary of State Antony Blinken, this revealed that the “great battle” between Britain and the EU was the “last thing” Washington wanted.

Meanwhile, Neil told the Guardian that part of his job was to persuade Britain not to violate the Brexit treaty.

“They haven’t broken it yet. They’re talking about breaking it, so part of my job is to convince them not to break it. My purpose is diverse. , We really want to reaffirm America’s unwavering commitment to the Good Friday Agreement, to remind everyone that it worked brilliantly on the eve of the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement, “he said. I did.

He said Irish Prime Minister Michael Martin said there was “no alternative” to substantive negotiations between the British government and the EU to resolve issues related to the NI Protocol. Martin also called for a parliamentary and executive branch in Stormont during the UK-EU talks, accusing Britain of “moving the goal post” on its approach to the Protocol.

Saturday, January 30, 2021, a man who read the Irish sea border and passed a graffiti in the Donegall Road area, predominantly a royalist in Southern Belfast, Northern Ireland-Sputnik International, 1920, March 2, 2022.

EU Parliament accuses Britain of Northern Ireland’s order to suspend UK post-EU agricultural food checks
document, Part of the Brexit Agreement It will come into effect in January 2021 and assumes that there are no strict borders between Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. However, under the NI Protocol, all goods and animal-based products from other parts of the UK must be checked on arrival to ensure compliance with EU hygiene regulations.

The UK government has repeatedly claimed that the protocol is not working because it causes delays and interruptions in goods moving between the UK and Northern Ireland. The document also offends union members who believe their position in the UK could be affected, thereby threatening the Good Friday Agreement.

https://sputniknews.com/20220522/liz-truss-defies-us-pressure-not-to-review-northern-ireland-protocol-report-says-1095697524.html Liz Truss opposes US pressure not to review the Northern Ireland Protocol, the report said.

Back to top button