New Cabinet to swear tomorrow | Malaysia

Members of the new cabinet pledge their inauguration, loyalty and secrets at Istana Negara on August 30, 2021. — File photo by Yusof Mat Isa

Kuala Lumpur, August 29 — A total of 31 ministers and 38 deputy ministers of the new cabinet will take an oath of office, loyalty and secrets tomorrow (August 30) in Istana Negara.

The ceremony in front of Jan di Pertian Agon al Sultan Abdullah Riayatudin al Mustafa Biller Shah is scheduled to begin at 2:30 pm.

The cabinet lineup was announced last Friday, seven days after Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob swore to take office as the ninth prime minister in front of His Majesty on August 20.

Ismail Sabri replaced Tanslim Hidinyasin, who resigned on August 16 after losing majority support in parliament, and his proposed bipartisan cooperation was rejected by political parties.

The prime minister called the lineup a “results-oriented cabinet” and said that he had formed a cabinet that was reformed based on the status quo, keeping stability and putting the interests and safety of the Malaysian family first.

Of the 31 appointed ministers, two new faces were introduced. That is, former Perakmenteri Besar and Partipribmi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) Vice President Datuxeria Humad Faizalism have been appointed Minister of Youth Sports and PAS Vice President Idris Ahmad. Minister of the Prime Minister’s Office (religious issues). — Bernama New Cabinet to swear tomorrow | Malaysia

Back to top button