Middle East

Rahul leads India in South Africa’s ODI series Rohit is ineligible

Bumura becomes deputy captain and Shami rests, but Patel and Jadeya remain ineligible.

India’s opening round KL Raffle has been nominated as captain of the three-game One Day International (ODI) series in South Africa, and the newly appointed skipper Rohit Sharma is not yet available due to injury, the Indian board said. BCCI) selector said yesterday.
Rohit, who replaced Virat Kohli as an Indian whiteball skipper earlier this month, suffered a hamstring injury during a training session in Mumbai prior to his South African tour.
First bowler Jaspari Bumura will be the deputy captain of the series. Fellow Seamer Mohamed Shami rested, but Axor Patel and Ravindra Jadeya were sick.
“We have decided that Rohit should work on fitness with lots of cricket,” Chetan Sharma, chairman of the selection committee, told reporters.
“We had a good chat with Rohit, and that’s why he doesn’t go to South Africa, and Raffle is the captain.”
Kori, who abandoned the Twenty20 captain, was also removed as an Indian ODI skipper because the selector doesn’t want to have two different whiteball captains.
Chetan said Kori’s decision to resign as captain of the T20 was a surprise at another World Cup next year, and the selector told him to continue rethinking as captain before finally accepting his decision. He added that he urged.
“Everyone told him to think about it … the main purpose for everyone is the same-to make India the top,” Chetan added.
“It was a difficult decision for Selector, but Selector has to make a difficult decision … I know Virat will be an important player for us in the coming days and years. increase.”
The ODI series will begin on January 19th after India’s 1-0 lead test series. The second test will start on January 3rd.

KL Rahul (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar -Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohamed Siraj

http://www.gulf-times.com/story/707208/Rahul-to-lead-India-in-South-Africa-ODI-series-as- Rahul leads India in South Africa’s ODI series Rohit is ineligible

Back to top button