Russia bans admission to 154 members of the British House of Lords

The Russian Foreign Ministry announced on Tuesday that it has imposed a ban on 154 members of the aristocratic parliament of the British Parliament in retaliation for sanctions against the Russian senator against Ukraine.

Listed was William Hague, a former Foreign Minister and leader of the Conservative opposition.

The blacklist does not include Russian-born news baron Evgeny Lebedev, who was given a controversial peerage by the government of Prime Minister Boris Johnson in 2020.

The close relationship between Lebedev and Johnson raises questions as his father Alexander publicly admits that he was an agent of the KGB.

Evgeny Lebedev, owner of the London Evening Standard and The Independent, has blamed Moscow’s actions in Ukraine.

The House of Lords has about 800 members, most of whom are life-peer of the aristocrats and have not inherited their titles.

The Russian Foreign Ministry said the decision was made “mutually” in response to the British government imposing sanctions on almost all members of the Russian Federation in March.

Russia banned 287 British lawmakers from entering the country last month for another retaliation for choosing someone who played the “most active role” in formulating anti-Russian sanctions and contributed to “disgusting hysteria.” bottom. Russia bans admission to 154 members of the British House of Lords

Show More
Back to top button